Women's Network Records
-
No requestable containers
Scope and Contents
This collection contains fliers for Women's Network meetings, as well as record material compiled and collected by Professor Katherine "Kitty" Preston. Some of Dr. Preston's files cover the time when the Women's Network was named the Women's Caucus. The files largely include communications among Women's Network Executive Committee members, event programming, research and information on women's issues on campus, and Executive Committee meeting minutes. Collection includes digital files; at least 72 hours advanced notice required for access.
The Women's Network website is also being crawled and archived.
Dates
- Creation: 1986-2013, 2015-2019
Creator
- College of William and Mary . Women's Network (Organization)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
The collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Conditions Governing Use:
Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
Historical Note:
From their website:
The William & Mary Women's Network provides a way for all women employees at the university — instructional faculty, administrators, professionals, operational, classified, hourly, and graduate students —- to support each other, help newcomers learn the ropes and the folkways of this special institution, socialize with each other, celebrate our successes and (occasionally) to advocate for each other when things get tough. The Women’s Network is trans-inclusive.
Extent
0.25 Linear Feet
11.7 Megabytes
Physical Characteristics and Technical Requirements
Digital files require at least 72 hours advanced notice for access. Email correspondence requires ePADD software.
Custodial History:
A portion of this collection was previously part of the University Archives Publications Collection.
- Title
- Guide to the Women's Network Records
- Author
- SCRC staff
- Date
- 2007-08-31
- Description rules
- Describing Archives: A Content Standard
- Language of description
- English
- Script of description
- Latin
- Language of description note
- English
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository