Skip to main content

Writing Awards Winners Collection

Identifier: UA 69

  • Staff Only
  • No requestable containers

Scope and Contents

The Writing Awards Winners collection consists of winning entries from four writing awards: The Goronwy Owen Poetry Prize, the Glenwood Clark Fiction Prize, the Tiberius Gacchus Jones Literary Prize, and the Howard Scammon Drama Prize. Acc. 1984.039 and Acc. 1985.042 are housed in the same box.

1984 winners:

Ali, Daud - Goronwy Owen Poetry Prize

Rabimowitz, Blanche - Howard Scammon Drama Prize

Walters, Neal L. - Glenwood Clark Fiction Prize; Tiberius Gracchus Jones Prize

1985 winners:

Hainley, Bruce - Goronwy Owen Poetry Prize

Keiso, William Martin, II - Howard Scammon Drama Prize

Schneider, Greg - Glenwood Clark Fiction Prize

Johnson, Brook - Tiberius Gracchus Jones Prize

Inventory available in the Special Collections Research Center.


  • Creation: 1984-1985


Language of Materials


Conditions Governing Access:

The collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.


1.00 Linear Feet

Acquisition Information:

Acc. 1984.039 transferred from the Committee on Writing Awards 06/13/1984. Acc. 1985 transferred from English Department 06/25/1985.

Guide to the Writing Awards Winners Collection
Finding Aid Authors: Special Collections Staff, Wendy Korwin.
Language of description
Script of description
Language of description note
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository