Skip to main content

William W. Silvis Letter to Samuel Steel

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01105

  • Staff Only

Scope and Contents

Letter, 1865 January 12, from William W. Silvis, Oakland Crossroads, Westmorland County, Pennsylvania to Samuel Steel. In the letter, Silvis talks about the health of Steel's family, the halt of rail roading as a result of the cold weather, wonders if Steel has been in any fights while in the Union Army, and notes that there will be a draft in February if the quota of soldiers is not met. The letter was given by Katrina Garrison in honor of Elizabeth Yeates.

Dates

  • Creation: 1865 January 12

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Extent

0.01 Linear Foot

Acquisition Information:

Acc. 2014.041 was hand-delivered to Special Collections on 3/12/2014. The letter was given by Katrina Garrison in honor of Elizabeth Yeates.

Physical Description

20.5" x 12.5"

Processing Information:

Accessioned and minimally described by Steven Bookman, University Archives Specialist, in April 2014.

Title
Guide to the William W. Silvis Letter to Samuel Steel
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Steven M. Bookman, University Archives Specialist.
Date
2014-04-23
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: