Skip to main content

William Poole Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00682

Scope and Contents

Letter, 15 February 1817, of William Poole, Brandywine, Delaware, to Isaac Hicks of Westbury, New York. Discusses the effect of that the abolition of slavery would have on the economy of the United States and England. Also discusses Poole's opposition to slavery and the kidnapping of free African Americans to be put into slavery.

Dates

  • 1817 February 15

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers.  Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Extent

0.01 Linear Foot

Processing Information:

Accessioned and minimally processed by Benjamin Bromley in December 2012.
Title
Guide to the William Poole Letter
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Benjamin Bromley, Public Services Archives Specialist.
Date
2012-12-20
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: