Skip to main content

Samuel Henley Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.023

Scope and Contents

Collection includes the Henley-Horrocks Inventory of books received by the College December 8, 1772, a letter from Thomas Jefferson to Henley (June 9, 1778) concerning Henley's books left in storage at the College of William and Mary (also includes notes by James Madison), a letter dated December 14, 1774 from Henley to the Reverend Dr. Percy, Northumberland House, London, in which Henley laments the actions of the patriots, and a letter dated October 1804 Henley to T.J. Mathias, Esq. of Scotland Yard regarding changes to the title page of a project that Henley and Mathias were working on.

Dates

  • 1772, 1774, 1778, 1804

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

The collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

Samuel Henley was born in 1745 in England and was ordained in the Church of England. Henley was recruited to be Professor of Moral Philosophy at William and Mary (1770-1775). Henley returned to England in May 1775 because of the widening rift between England and Virginia. Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Extent

0.02 Linear Feet

Custodial History:

Acc. 2011.212 was previously housed wtih Acc. 1981.001 before being individually accessioned on 4/25/11.

Acquisition Information:

Acc. 1981.001 acquired 01/26/1981; Acc. 1989.009 purchased from Profiles in History, Beverly Hills, CA on 02/28/1989; Acc. 2007.038 was a gift from an unknown individual prior to 2007 (perhaps 2005-2006); Acc. 2011.212, gift of Terry Meyers in memory of Fraser Neiman was received in June 1993.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

The Mathias letter was donated in June 1993 by Terry Meyers, professor of English at the College of William and Mary, in memory of Fraser Neiman, professor of English at the College from 1938 to 1976, to mark all that he has done for William and Mary.

Related Materials:

Samuel Henley Letter to Mr. Johnson (SC 00527)

Separated Materials:

The original Henley-Horrocks inventory was pulled from the College Papers Collection and was added to this collection on 3/12/2012.
Title
Guide to the Samuel Henley Papers
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Special Collections Staff.
Date
2007-06-04
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: