Skip to main content

Mary Jane and Sallie Chisholm Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00914

  • Staff Only

Scope and Contents

Letter from an unknown female to an unknown person about "Grandpap helping Polly Parnell to move into a new house," anticipating a visit every friday night, school out in March, weddings, new dress and hurt arm. March 1, 1871. Includes 5 envelopes addressed to either Mary Jane or Sallie Chisholm in German Settlement, Preston County, Virginia and sent from Waterford, Pennsylvania, Grafton, Virginia or Topeka, Kansas.  No dates on the envelopes.

Dates

  • 1871 and undated

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Extent

0.01 Linear Foot

Title
Guide to the Mary Jane and Sallie Chisholm Papers
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Anne Johnson.
Date
2012-07-11
Language of description
English
Script of description
Code for undetermined script
Language of description note
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: