Skip to main content

Lancaster, Pennsylvania Poetry Journals

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00643

Scope and Contents

Two handwritten poetry journals.  One  kept by Sarah Wood and one by an unknown writer.  The unknown writer has a religious theme plus many of the poems are by other authors.

Sarah Wood's poems are about her friends, family and historical and current events in her life.  One poem is written in memory of her father, and other poems in memory of friends.  Her subjects are varied, for example one poem is entitled, "The Superanuated Horse to His Master" and another one, "Alliteration."  One page is written on the minutes of an organization, "An Epistle Our Yearly Meeting" in 1912.  Another page includes the names:  Thomas Wood, Lydia D. Wood, Joseph Wood, Margaret Wood and Hannah R. Wood.

Dates

  • 1828-1835
  • Majority of material found in 1831-1834

Language of Materials

English

Physical Description

3 items.

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before quoting, please get permission from the copyright holder and the Special Collections Research Center, Earl Gregg Swem Library, College of William and Mary.

Biographical Information:

Author of poetry from Lancaster, Pennsylvania. Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki:

Extent

0.01 Linear Foot

Acquisition Information:

Purchase

Physical Description

3 items.
Title
Guide to the Lancaster, Pennsylvania Poetry Journals
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Susan A. Riggs, Manuscripts and Rare Books Librarian.
Date
2009-01-23
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: