Skip to main content

Ernest Stuart Elsea Ledgers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.150

  • Staff Only
  • No requestable containers

Scope and Contents

This collection contains nine volumes of Ernest Stuart Elsea's business records dating from 1944 to 1968.  The ledgers detail the accounts for Elsea's business which operated under the following names: Elsea's Esso Station, Stuart's Service Station, Stuart's Esso Station, and Elsea's Esso Garage.  Elsea's station sold gasoline, auto supplies, and basic groceries.  The station also provided an automobile repair service.  His garage was in Clarke County, Virginia near Boyce and in White Post, Virginia.  Includes a "flashback" newspaper article about the opening of Stuart's Esso in 1927 in White Post, Virginia.

Dates

  • Creation: 1944-1968

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers.  Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Extent

1.00 Linear Feet

Additional Description

Acquisition Information:

Purchase

Physical Description

9 vols.

Related Name

Subject

Subjects

Finding Aid & Administrative Information

Title
Guide to the Ernest Stuart Elsea Ledgers
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Peter Klicker.
Date
2008-01-01
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: