Julia Augusta Grassinger Diary
Scope and Contents
For access to the digitized diary see "Digital Material" menu below.
One diary of Julia Augusta Grassinger documenting her trip with her friend Billie from New York to attend the Chicago World's Fair, "Century of Progress International Exposition", in Illinois, 1934. The diary contains a typed account of Grassinger's trip to Chicago by train, photographs of Niagara Falls, photographs with captions of Chicago buildings and scenes from the exposition, pamphlets from the exposition, souvenir artifacts from the exposition, a typed account of places Julia and Billie went while exploring Chicago with light observations of racial relations, and a typed description of their return trip back to New York. One included pamphlet is about Union Pacific trains and railroads, while another by James Sweinhart is about the industrialized American barn. Grassinger's captions of her photographs often feature elaborate styles of lettering and hand-drawn illustrations.
- Creation: 1934 July
Language of Materials
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Conditions Governing Use:
Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
0.15 Linear Feet (1 box (1 volume))
Arrangement of Materials:
This collection is not yet fully arranged and described. Researchers may wish to consult with a staff member for further information in advance of using the collection.
Acc. 2012.019 was received by the SCRC via USPS on 12/12/2011
Items transferred to the Manuscript Artifact Collection (Mss. 1.03) include:
Chromium Letter Opener/ Bookmark (Mss. 2012.019.01), Packet of Sand from New Mexico (Mss. 2012.019.02), Small American Flag (Mss. 2012.019.03)
Accessioned and minimally processed by Steven Bookman, University Archives Specialist, in January 2012.
Genre / Form
- Guide to the Julia Augusta Grassinger Diary
- Steven Bookman, University Archives Specialist.
- Description rules
- Describing Archives: A Content Standard
- Language of description
- Script of description
- Language of description note