Skip to main content

James W. Brown, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.068

Scope and Contents

This collection is composed entirely of a scrapbook containing the correspondence of James 'Jimmy' W. Brown, Jr. while a student at the College of William and Mary from 1936-1937. He was a student at William and Mary from 1936-1940. The letters have been pasted into the scrapbook.

Dates

  • 1936-1937

Language of Materials

English

Physical Description

1 vol.

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

Brown, James W., Jr., WM student from 1936-1940. Brown worked as a dentist. Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Extent

0.50 Linear Feet

Custodial History:

A note received with the scrapbook explains that it was found in a dumpster in Northern Virginia.

Acquisition Information:

Acc. 1998.037 was received on 7/22/1998.

Related Materials:

S. Louise Seymour Scrapbooks (UA 5.051); Margaret Mitchell Scrapbook (UA 5.070); Emily Calkins Scrapbook (UA 5.090); Mary Mackey Sainsbury Papers (UA 5.077); Joe Holland Scrapbooks (UA 5.078).

Physical Description

1 vol.
Title
Guide to the James W. Brown, Jr. Papers
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Special Collections Staff.
Date
2007-09-17
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: