Skip to main content

James Harrell Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01033

  • Staff Only
  • No requestable containers

Scope and Contents

Account book, 1831-1840, of the estate of James Harrell of Chesterfield County, South Carolina. Harrell died in 1823, and the administrator of his estate is James Sinclair. The account book has separate pages for each of Harrell's minor children: Elizabeth T. Harrell, Joseph L. Harrell, and Sarah Ann P. Harrell. Includes amounts spent on tuition at various schools, lists of books purchased, and taxes paid on Harrell's estate. There are also lines for the hiring of slaves to work on Harrell's plantation as well as lines where Harrell's slaves are hired out to others. Also includes the cost of medical care for his slaves as well as lists of their names.

Dates

  • Creation: 1831-1840

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Extent

0.01 Linear Foot

Additional Description

Processing Information:

Accessioned and minimally processed by Benjamin Bromley in December 2011.

Subjects

Finding Aid & Administrative Information

Title
Guide to the James Harrell Account Book
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Benjamin Bromley, Public Services Archives Specialist.
Date
2011-12-21
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: