Jack D'Ambrosio Diaries
Scope and Contents
Diaries, from Janurary 1977 to January 1985, of Jack D'Ambrosio, a pharmacist living in Englewood, Ohio. D'Ambrosio worked at the Veterans Affairs hospital in Dayton, Ohio, and later was additionally employed at Elder Beerman, a department store and local pharmacy. He also generated income from his hobby of book collecting/trading and makes several entries regarding book purchases and sales. Entries are made several times a week and are very detailed. They include discussion about the weather, family life, health, social life, sports and current events reports and politics. D'Ambrosio also provides in his entries perspectives on his marriage, work life at the VA, the state of the country, growing old, and race relations.
- Creation: 1977-1985
Language of Materials
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Conditions Governing Use:
Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
0.50 Linear Feet
Acquisition information for material received after 7/13/2009 is available by consulting a Special Collections Research Center staff member.
Includes Acc. 2012.268
Accessioned and minimally processed in January 2010 by Ute Schechter, Warren E. Burger Archivist. Further processed in April 2012 by Jonathan Katora, Special Collections assistant. Acc. 2012.268 added by Benjamin Bromley in July 2012.
- Guide to the Jack D'Ambrosio Diaries
- Finding Aid Authors: Special Collections Research Center Staff.
- Language of description
- Script of description
- Language of description note
- The collection description/finding aid is written in English