Glidden Family Papers
-
No requestable containers
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1892-1942, of the family of George Clarke Glidden and his wife Mary A. Kelley of Dorchester, Suffolk County, Massachusetts. The bulk of the material consists of correspondence, but there are also postcards and invitations in the collection. The letters describe the daily lives of the family, including house work, courtships, social entertainment, vacations, child-raising, and recreation. Most of the letters were written between Mary A. Kelley, her husband George Clark Glidden, and their daughter Barbara Glidden.
Dates
- Creation: 1892-1942
- Creation: Majority of material found in 1900-1910
Creator
- Glidden Family (Family)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Conditions Governing Use:
Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
Family History:
Extent
2.00 Linear Feet
Arrangement of Materials:
This collection is not yet fully arranged and described. Researchers may wish to consult with a staff member for further information in advance of using the collection.
Acquisition Information:
Acc. 2012.135 was received by the SCRC via USPS in March 2012.
Processing Information:
Acc. 2012.135 accessioned and minimally described by Steven Bookman, University Archives Specialist, in April 2012.
- Title
- Guide to the Glidden Family Papers
- Author
- Finding Aid Authors: Steven Bookman, University Archives Specialist.
- Date
- 2012-04-12
- Language of description
- English
- Script of description
- Latin
- Language of description note
- The collection description/finding aid is written in English
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository