Anatole and Vladimir Kalichevsky Papers
-
No requestable containers
Scope and Contents
This small collection, 1871-1955, primarily in Russian, documents the military career of Russian Major General Anatole Kalichevsky (1870-1937) and the travel diaries of his son, Vladimir Kalichevsky (1895-1958), a petroleum engineer who spent most of his career in Texas and northern New Jersey. Examples of items relating to Anatole are his service record, military orders, his diplomatic passport, and his "New York Times" obituary. Vladimir, a graduate of the California Institute of Technology, wrote several books on petroleum engineering, three of which are in the collection. The diaries cover the years 1902-1955 and refer to tourist attractions throughout the United States and Europe as well as academic lectures attended while traveling. Also included are family photographs and Russian orders and badges awarded to Anatole. All documents are in Russian unless otherwise indicated.
Dates
- Creation: 1871-1955
Creator
- Kalichevsky, Anatole, 1870-1937 (Person)
- Kalichevsky, Vladimir, 1895-1958 (Person)
Language of Materials
Russian English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Conditions Governing Use:
Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
Biographical Information:
Anatole Kalichevsky (March 28, 1870-April 3, 1937) was a career military officer in the White Army of Russia where he rose to the rank of Major General. He was also a court officer of the last of the Czars. He was exiled from Russia in 1921 and arrived in America that year via Yokohama. When he lived in New York he was active in Russian army veterans associations. He had one son Vladimir. Anatole was born in Tiflis, Georgia and died in Woodbury, New Jersey.
Extent
0.5 Linear Feet
Acquisition Information:
Gift of Kira K. Berry, of Williamsburg, 2001 and 2002, the granddaughter and daughter respectively of Anatole and Vladimir Kalichevsky.
General
Other Information:
A PDF document of this inventory is available online.
Additional information may be found at http://scrc.swem.wm.edu/findingaids/2002_K34_Kalichevsky.pdf
Genre / Form
Topical
- Title
- Guide to the Anatole and Vladimir Kalichevsky Papers
- Author
- Finding Aid Authors: Special Collections Staff.
- Date
- 2007-06-20
- Language of description
- English
- Script of description
- Latin
- Language of description note
- The collection description/finding aid is written in English
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository