Skip to main content

Elaine Campton Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.017

Scope and Contents

One brown leather volume with "Photographs" stamped on the cover. It contains invitations to and nametags for sorority rush parties, a Chi Omega Pledge Banquet program, and a card granting social privileges to a male visitor. Also included with the scrpabook is a parody of a University of Virginia newspaper, the Virginius Dispatchus.

Dates

  • 1945-1951

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

The collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

Jeanne Elaine Campton was a student at the College of William and Mary from 1945-1949. Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Extent

0.40 Linear Feet

Acquisition Information:

Acc. 1991.053 was received in Spring 1991 from James W. Baker and Elaine Campton Baker.

Related Materials:

Joan Worstell Carter Papers (UA 5.025); Curtis L. Newcombe Scrapbooks (UA 6.069); S. Louise Seymour Scrapbooks (UA 5.051).

A miniature paddle that was a favor from the Kappa Sigma Spring 1951 dance was separated from this collection on 8/20/2009 and was added to the University Archives Artifact Collection.

Separated Materials:

A miniature paddle that was a favor from the Kappa Sigma Spring 1951 dance was separated from this collection on 8/20/2009 and was added to the University Archives Artifact Collection.
Title
Guide to the Elaine Campton Scrapbook
Author
Special Collections Staff.
Date
2007-07-27
Description rules
dacs
Language of description
English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: