Skip to main content

Diary on the end of World War II

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00638

Scope and Contents

Diary, 1945-1946, of an unknown person detailing the reactions to the end of World War II. It includes both handwritten diary entries and well as newspaper clippings cut out and glued into the diary. The cover includes a political cartoon entitled "New Light of Asia" and depicts firebombs falling on Tokyo.

Dates

  • 1945-1946

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Extent

0.01 Linear Foot

Related Materials:

A Guide to World War II Resources in the Special Collections Research Center

Information about related materials is available at http://guides.swem.wm.edu/WorldWarII

Processing Information:

Accessioned and minimally processed by Benjamin Bromley in July 2011.
Title
Guide to the Diary on the end of World War II
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Benjamin Bromley, Public Services Archives Specialist.
Date
2011-07-29
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: