Richard N. Johnson Journal
-
No requestable containers
Scope and Contents
Journal, 1837-1849, of Richard N. Johnson, merchant, of [Fauquier County, Va. ?]
Dates
- Creation: 1837-1849
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Conditions Governing Use:
Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
Biographical Information:
"Richard (Nutt Johnson) was a land speculator and he owned a number of tracts of land in Prince William and Fauquier Counties, Virginia. It is believed that Richard served in the Commissary during the Civil War. In 1862, Richard and his family were living in Charlottesville. In about 1866 he and John J. Roberts were the proprietors of the Monticello House. (Albemarle County, Virginia Deed Book 62, p. 83).
Information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .
Extent
0.20 Linear Feet
Physical Description
210 p. : bound volume ; 41 cm.
- Title
- Guide to the Richard N. Johnson Journal
- Author
- Finding Aid Authors: Special Collections staff.
- Date
- 2009-06-04
- Language of description
- English
- Script of description
- Latin
- Language of description note
- The collection description/finding aid is written in English
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository