Skip to main content

Miers Fisher Manuscript

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01169

  • Staff Only
  • No requestable containers

Scope and Contents

Fisher's memorandum concerning the removal of his goods and their worth. The goods were removed from stores in Southwark [part of Philadelphia, Pa.] by the Committee of the City and Liberties and Committee of Safety in June, 1776.

Dates

  • Creation: 1776
  • Creation: Majority of material found in 1776

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

Miers Fisher was a Philadelphia merchant moved from Philadelphia and imprisoned in Winchester, Va. during the American Revolution. Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Extent

0.01 Linear Foot

Additional Description

Acquisition Information:

This memorandum was found betweem the pages of the book, Exiles in Virginia: with Observations on the Conduct of the Society of Friends during the Revolutionary War (Philadelphia: Published for the subscribers, 1848).

Subjects

Finding Aid & Administrative Information

Title
Guide to the Miers Fisher Manuscript
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Special Collections Staff.
Date
2007-07-30
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: