Skip to main content

Maakestad Collection

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01244

  • Staff Only
  • No requestable containers

Scope and Contents

Items related to the history of Norge, Virginia.

"The Beginning of Norse Immigration to America" a reading by Mrs. Hilds Hove Dunn of a composition by H.A. Maakestad on October 19, 1975 at Our Saviors Lutheran Church.

Daily Press "Your Neighbors" article on Norge, October 24, 1984.

Copy of an article on Riverview Plantation.

Copy of a paper, "The Norge Virginia Post Colonial Colony."

Copy of 1972 translation from Norwegian of pamphlet, "A Composition from the Norsk and Danish Colony in the State of Virginia" edited, by Mr. Carl M. Bergh, Land and Excursion agent, C&O Railroad.

WHRA.

Dates

  • Creation: 1972-1984

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

Information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Extent

0.01 Linear Foot

Additional Description

Acquisition Information:

Gift of through the Williamsburg Historic Records Association.

Subjects

Finding Aid & Administrative Information

Title
Guide to the Maakestad Collection
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Anne Johnson.
Date
2009-05-15
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: