Chapman Johnson Letter to Mr. Preston
-
No requestable containers
Scope and Contents
Letter, 19 Jan. 1835, of Chapman Johnson, Richmond, Va. to Mr. Preston, n.p. Discusses how Dr. Alexander McCall of Washington County has asked him to furnish a written note of argument, with reference to authorities, in the case of "King v. White" in the Supreme Court; understands that Preston will again argue the case for the appellant King so will send the note to him if this meets with his approval; asks Preston to inform him when the case will be argued and whether the argument will embrace the whole case or particular points. 1 p.
Dates
- Creation: 1835 January 19
- Creation: Majority of material found in 1835 January 19
Creator
- Johnson, Chapman, 1779-1849 (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Conditions Governing Use:
Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
Biographical Information:
Chapman Johnson enrolled at the College of William and Mary in 1799 at the age of twenty-one. Chapman was a lawyer, state senator (1815-1831), University of Virginia governor (1819-1845) and rector (1836-1845). Additional biographical information about Johnson is available in the Dictionary of American Biography and the Virginia Magazine of History and Biography v. 29 no. 2 and v. 35 no. 2 & 3. Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .
Extent
0.01 Linear Foot
Acquisition Information:
Purchase
Physical Description
1 item
Processing Information:
Processed by Ellen Strong in 1995.
- Title
- Guide to the Chapman Johnson Letter to Mr. Preston
- Author
- Finding Aid Authors: Ellen Strong.
- Date
- 2007-07-23
- Language of description
- English
- Script of description
- Latin
- Language of description note
- The collection description/finding aid is written in English
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository