Skip to main content

Amos Alonzo Stagg Society Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 188
The collection includes correspondence, news clippings, and planning documents and drafts of the Amos Alonzo Stagg Society. The group was formed to prevent the proposed expansion of Cary Field Stadium (now known as Zable Stadium) and thereby bring the College of William and Mary into division 1 college football.

Dates

  • 1979-1980
  • Majority of material found in 1979

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

The collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Extent

0.20 Linear Feet

Historical Note:

The Amos Alonzo Stagg Society was a student-faculty-alumni-Williamsburg residents organization formed to prevent the proposed expansion of Cary Field Stadium. Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Custodial History:

Portions of this collection were previously part of the University Archives Publications Collection.

Acquisition Information:

Acc. 2002.079 received prior to 2002 from an unidentified source.

Related Materials:

University Archives Subject File Collection (UA 9)
Title
Guide to the Amos Alonzo Stagg Society Records
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Special Collections Staff.
Date
2007-06-29
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: