Peachy Family Papers
-
No requestable containers
Scope and Contents
Papers of the Peachy Family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Bathurst D. Peachy Sr. (1857-1916) and Bathurst D. Peachy Jr. (1893-1953) both worked was lawyers in Williamsburg, VA. Bathurst D. Peachy Sr. also owned the Williamsburg Millinery Company.
Bathurst D. Peachy Jr. graduated from William & Mary in 1914 and coached the College's baseball team in 1918. Peachy Jr. worked with W.A.R Goodwin to purchase land for the preservation of Williamsburg. He also served as the President of the Society of Alumni from 1940-1942.
This collection also includes documents concerning William S. Peachy, Thomas Griffin Peachy and Theodore Rogers. William S. Peachy, who graduated from the College of William and Mary in 1838, was the father of Bathurst D. Peachy Sr. Thomas Griffin Peachy, a William & Mary alum and Rector, was the brother of Bathurst D. Peachy Sr. Theodore Rogers was the husband of Virginia Peachy Rogers, the daughter of Bathurst D. Peachy Sr.
Dates
- Creation: 1884-1916
Creator
- Peachy family (Family)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Conditions Governing Use:
Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
Extent
2.16 Linear Feet
Processing Information:
Processed by Anne Johnson in February 2011. Reprocessed by Mallory Walker in February 2018.
Subject
- Peachy, Bathurst Dangerfield, Sr. (Person)
- Peachy, Bathurst Dangerfield, Jr. (Person)
- Title
- Guide to the Peachy Family Papers
- Author
- Finding Aid Authors: Anne Johnson, Mallory Walker
- Date
- 2011-02-18
- Language of description
- English
- Script of description
- Latin
- Language of description note
- The collection description/finding aid is written in English
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository