Skip to main content

E.B. Branch Telegram

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00315
Message from E.B. Branch, Petersburg, Va., to John Moncure Robinson, Engineer F. [?] C., Care of Q.M. General. "The Comet" [a railroad engine?] will be ready Saturday night. He plans to have her in No. 6. He requests a telegraph from Mr. Gill.

Dates

  • 1865 January 26

Creator

Conditions Governing Access

The collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Extent

0.01 Linear Foot

Custodial History

The E.B. Branch Tepgram Letter was part of the Civil War Collection, Mss. 39.1 C76, until November 2017. The former citation was Civil War Collection, Special Collections Research Center, Swem Library, College of William and Mary.
Author
Karen King, SCRC Staff
Date
October 2017

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: