Skip to main content

Thirteen Club Banners

 Collection
Identifier: UA 7.072

  • Staff Only

Scope and Contents

In order to spread the message of its organization, the Thirteen Club frequently flies banners at prominent on-campus locations.  Students are encouraged to help create a work of art by writing their thoughts and reflections on the banners. The two banners in this collection are favorites of the Club.

Dates

  • Creation: 2015

Creator

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Administrative History:

The Thirteen Club is a secret society at the College of William and Mary.  United by a love of and a devotion to the College, it was founded in 1890 and reactivated in 1994. The Club affirms a primary mission of anonymous support of William and Mary, its students, and its ideals of leadership, friendship, and public service. In doing this, the Club seeks to cherish and preserve the College's history and to aid in the creation of a strong future for its graduates.  Membership is undisclosed solely for the purpose of promoting the spirit of anonymous acts which benefit the campus and society at large. *Biographical information provided by the Thirteen Club*

Extent

2.00 Linear Feet

Language

English

Acquisition Information:

Donation.

Title
Guide to the Thirteen Club Banners, 2015
Author
SCRC staff
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: