Skip to main content

The Forum Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 70

Scope and Contents

The collection includes meeting agenda and minutes, fliers, and related material of The Forum, the organization formerly known as the Black Faculty and Staff Forum at the College of William and Mary.

Dates

  • 1992-2005
  • Majority of material found in 1993-1995

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from the University Archivist, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Historical Note:

The Forum of the College of William and Mary took a concrete form in the Spring of 1989 with two meetings and a reception. This effort was revived in 1991, and the Black Faculty and Staff Forum (as it was then known) quickly became a recognized vehicle for advancing the interests of the Black community at the College in the 1991-92 academic year. The Forum organized itself formally with bylaws and duly elected officers in the Fall of 1992.

The purpose of the Forum is to:

* Promote the recruitment and retention, promotion and tenure, and professional development and career advancement of a diverse faculty, administrators, and staff at the College;

* To address issues of concerns to the campus community, including campus climate;

* To provide support for recruitment and retention a diverse student body;

* To expand and strengthen the relationship and involvement of faculty and staff of the College with the wider College community.

* To foster a greater sense of community and mutual support among the faculty, staff and students of the College through mentoring and networking.

The organization's name was changed to the Forum in 2005.

Description taken from 24 May 2007. Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Extent

0.20 Linear Feet

Arrangement of Materials:

Arranged alphabetically.

Custodial History:

The initial collection was composed of items originally retained in the University Archives Publications Collection.

Accruals:

Future accruals are expected.

Creator

Title
Guide to the The Forum Records
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Amy C. Schindler.
Date
2007-05-24
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: