Skip to main content

Simon Bolivar Buckner Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00322

  • Staff Only

Scope and Contents

The document displays correspondence between Simon Bolivar Buckner, Head Quarters at Fort Donelson, Tennessee, and Brig. Gen. Ulysses Simpson Grant, Commanding U.S. Forces, near Fort Donelson, Tennessee. Buckner suggests an armistice in order to appoint a commissioner to agree upon terms of capitulation. Grant states that no terms except unconditional and immediate surrender will be accepted; and that he intends to move upon his works immediately. Facsimile.

Dates

  • Creation: 1862 February 16

Creator

Conditions Governing Access

The collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Extent

0.20 Linear Feet

Language

English

Custodial History

The Simon Buckner Bolivar Letters were part of the Civil War Collection, Mss. 39.1 C76, until November 2017. The former citation was Civil War Collection, Special Collections Research Center, Swem Library, College of William and Mary.

Author
Karen King, SCRC Staff
Date
September 2017
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: