Skip to main content

Phillip Hamman Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 H17

  • Staff Only

Scope and Contents

Logbooks and accounts, 1768-1787, of Captain Phillip Hamman of Ipswich, Mass., master of the schooner, Hopewell, and other vessels. Includes logbook, 20 March - 17 April 1768, of a voyage from St. Eustatius, Leeward Islands, West Indies to Ipswich; logbook Feb. 1768; ledger, 1768-1787, of labor and fish trade; logbook, 1769, with memorandum of crew and cargo; logbook, 1787, tallying cargo of corn; and accounts, 1771.

Dates

  • 1768-1787

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

Captain Phillip Hamman of Ipswich, Mass., master of the schooner Hopewell and other vessels. Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Extent

0.01 Linear Foot

Acquisition Information:

Gift

Processing Information:

Box and folder list compiled by Zach Woodward, SCRC staff, in April 2011.

Title
Guide to the Phillip Hamman Papers
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Special Collections Staff.
Date
2007-07-26
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: