Baron Gaspard de Gallatin Papers
-
No requestable containers
Scope and Contents
Photocopy of a journal or memoir, 1780-1781, kept by Baron Gaspard de Gallatin, a French officer in the army of the Count de Rochambeau. The journal concerns his military service in America. Gallatin was a participant in the Siege of Yorktown, but this photostat of the journal appears to be incomplete, stopping before the siege begins. Also includes photograph of a portrait of Baron de Gallatin and photographs of portraits of other family members. Photostat France : Versailles, 1931 22 1/2 cm.
Dates
- Creation: circa 1931
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Conditions Governing Use:
Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
Biographical Information:
Baron Gaspard de Gallatin was born at Geneva, Switzerland 19 March 1758. He served in the Regiment de Royal Deux-Ponts which was one of four regiments brought to America by the Count de Rochambeau.
Extent
0.01 Linear Foot
Custodial History:
The original journal and portraits at the time the collection was donated were in the possession of Judge Edmund Shedlin and Viscount D'Estienne d'Orves.
Acquisition Information:
Gift.
Electronic Format:
Journal in private hands in 1931.
Subject
- Gallatin, Baron Gaspard de, b. 1758 (Person)
Genre / Form
Geographic
Topical
- Title
- Guide to the Baron Gaspard de Gallatin Papers
- Author
- Finding Aid Authors: Special Collections Staff.
- Date
- 2007-07-31
- Language of description
- English
- Script of description
- Latin
- Language of description note
- The collection description/finding aid is written in English
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository