Skip to main content

Office of the President. John Augustine Smith Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 2.24

Scope and Contents

Contains a letter, photostats of letters, a photograph of a portrait, and biographical information about John Augustine Smith, President of the College of William & Mary from 1814 to 1826. Includes a letter, 20 December 1815, from John Augustine Smith of Williamsburg, Va., to Richard Bland Lee of Washington, D.C. There are also photostats of letters, 1818-1825, of John Augustine Smith. Finally, there is a photograph of a portrait and biographical material collected by librarians at the College of William & Mary.

Dates

  • 1814-1944
  • Majority of material found in 1814-1826

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

John Augustine Smith was president of the College of William and Mary from 1814-1826. He was educated at William and Mary and St. Thomas' Hospital, London. In addition to serving as president of the college, he worked as a physician and educator; professor of anatomy, surgery and physiology; and president of the College of Physicians and Surgeons, New York.

Extent

0.20 Linear Feet

Accruals:

Folder 2 contains a letter, 16 December 1818, that was originally John Augustine Smith to Burwell Bassett Photostat Letter Mss. Sm Coll Smith7. The rest of folder 2 and all of folders 3 and 4 were originally the John Augustine Smith Faculty-Alumni file. Folder 1 was purchased in October 2011.

Processing Information:

Accessioned and minimally processed by Benjamin Bromley in October 2011.
Title
Guide to the Office of the President. John Augustine Smith Records
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Benjamin Bromley, Public Services Archives Specialist.
Date
2011-10-12
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: