Skip to main content

Violet L. Barnett Diaries

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.504

Scope and Contents

Diaries of Violet Laughead Barnett (d. 1972) of West Chester, Pennsylvania for the years 1931-1972 (with the exceptions of 1967 and 1968). Violet Barnett was a homemaker and had two children, Ethel and Earl. Daily entries cover chores, weather, family and social life. There is also the occasional comment on national and international events. Violet Barnett was very engaged in church activities and a member of several chapters of the National Grange. Also included are a few newspapers clippings, invitations, greeting cards, postcards, business cards and miscellaneous notes. A ledger book from 1920 is contained at the end and the identity of the author is not confirmed.

Dates

  • 1920-1972
  • Majority of material found in 1931-1972

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Physical Description

35 volumes.

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

Married to Joseph Percy Barnett (1882-1967), Violet Laughead Barnett was a homemaker in West Chester, Pa. Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Extent

1.00 Linear Feet

Acquisition Information:

Purchase.

Physical Description

35 volumes.

Processing Information:

Accessioned and minimally processed in October 2009 by Ute Schechter, Warren E. Burger Archivist. Collection organized, series list entered and contents described in further detail by Michael Lusby, SCRC Staff, in November 2009.
Title
Guide to the Violet L. Barnett Diaries
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Ute Schechter, Michael Lusby.
Date
2009-10-20
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: