Skip to main content

George Holbert Tucker Collection of Jane Austen Materials

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1987.22

Scope and Contents

Collection contains source material regarding Jane Austen collected and compiled by George Holbert Tucker for his books on Jane Austen, particularly "Jane Austen the Woman:  Some Biographical Insights", "A History of Jane Austen's Family" and "A Goodly Heritage: A History of Jane Austen's Family." Tucker compiled material into binders documenting the times in which Austen lived as well as themes for his research and publication. His research also fact-checked biographies and cleared up discrepancies. Tucker's annotations are found throughout the accumulated material. Some of the volumes he created follow the chapter titles from his own books.

Collection also contains approximately 80 slides illustrating Jane Austen and her times; slides have identification.

Dates

  • 1975-1987

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

George Holbert Tucker was born in Norfolk on September 14, 1909. After graduating from Maury High School in 1928, he became the Norfolk supervisor for the Federal Archives Project under the Works Progress Administration. In 1949, Tucker began writing carefully researched articles on various phases of local and Virginia history for The Virginian-Pilot. From 1959 until two years after his retirement in 1975, he wrote a popular weekly column called "Tidewater Landfalls." He authored and co-authored books on Jane Austen.

Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Extent

8.55 Linear Feet

Arrangement of Materials:

Arranged in the order received from the donor.

Acquisition Information:

Gift

Related Materials:

The Jane Austen Collection at Goucher College.

Information about related materials is available at https://www.goucher.edu/the-library/special-collections-and-archives/special-collections/jane-austen-collection
Title
Guide to the George Holbert Tucker Collection of Jane Austen Materials
Status
Completed
Author
Susan Riggs, Manuscripts and Rare Books Librarian, and Anne Johnson, Special Collections Assistant.
Date
2010-05-06
Description rules
dacs
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: