Skip to main content

Walter Aldrich Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01119

Scope and Contents

Diary, 1936-1939 of a teenage boy. In brief daily entries, which cover his last 4 years of high school and end in the summer of his senior year, he lists activities and chores, like going to school, church, band practice, playing games, and working for his uncle. Also included are a few accounts in the back of the book, showing money earned and spent.

Dates

  • 1936-1939

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki:

Extent

0.01 Linear Foot

Acquisition Information:

Purchase.

Processing Information:

Accessioned and minimally processed in February 2010 by Ute Schechter, Warren E. Burger Archivist
Title
Guide to the Walter Aldrich Diary
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Ute Schechter, Warren E. Burger Archivist.
Date
2010-02-02
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: