This collection contains correspondence and recital schedules from the Naval Chaplain's School at the College of William and Mary from 1944-1945.
The collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
Originally called the Naval Chaplains School (NCS), Naval Chaplaincy School and Center (NCSC), came into existence in February of 1942 when large numbers of civilian clergy, most with no military experience, entered the Navy in World War II. These pastors, priests and rabbis stepped forward to meet the religious needs of the millions of young men and women who were joining the Navy and Marine Corps for the war-time emergency. First located at Naval Station Norfolk, VA the school moved shortly thereafter to the campus of the College of William and Mary, in nearby Williamsburg, VA. The school was decommissioned on 15 November 1945.
0.01 Linear Feet
This collection was previously part of the University Archives Publications Collection.