Folder 7, February 7 1931 - March 21 1931
Scope and Contents
Letters; 1927-1931, 1943-1945 of the Janney family of 'Roaring Springs,' Gloucester County, Va. Includes letters of Henrietta H. Janney to her daughter Emily R. Janney, a nurse at Union Memorial Hospital, Baltimore, Md. and the Duke Hospital, Durham, N.C., letters which describe life during the Great Depression in Gloucester County. Typescripts of letters; 1943-1945; from Emily R. Janney, at Gloucester County, to her brother Lt. Commander Samuel A. Janney while he was serving in the US Navy in the North African/Sicilian Campaign of World War II. There are 148 letters to Janney and six to former employees at Roaring Springs who were also soldiers. Seven additional letters to Major Joseph Y. Gayle in the US Army Air Corps while serving in China. Letters give an account of war-time Gloucester County.
Dates
- Creation: February 7 1931 - March 21 1931
Creator
- From the Collection: Janney, Emily Roseville, 1902-1982 (Person)
- From the Collection: Janney, Henrietta Hopkins (Person)
- From the Collection: Janney, Samuel Abijah, 1906-1988 (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 0.50 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository