Alexander von Humboldt, Berlin, Germany, to John B. Floyd, Secretary of War, 1858 August 8
Scope and Contents
Thanks Floyd for accepting his portrait, and speaks of his admiration of the United States; requests that a certain friend be allowed to return to his family to finish the sketches from the Colorado expedition.
Dates
- Creation: 1858 August 8
Creator
- From the Collection: Floyd, John Buchanan, 1806-1863 (Person)
- From the Collection: Buchanan, James, 1791-1868 (Person)
- From the Collection: Davis, Jefferson, 1808-1889 (Person)
- From the Collection: Faulkner, Charles James, 1806-1884 (Person)
- From the Collection: Houston, Sam, 1793-1863 (Person)
- From the Collection: Huger, Benjamin, 1805-1877 (Person)
- From the Collection: Humboldt, Alexander von, 1769-1859 (Person)
- From the Collection: Hunter, R. M. T. (Robert Mercer Taliaferro), 1809-1887 (Person)
- From the Collection: Lind, Jenny, 1820-1887 (Person)
- From the Collection: Mason, J. M. (James Murray), 1798-1871 (Person)
- From the Collection: Preston, William Ballard, 1805-1862 (Person)
- From the Collection: Scott, Winfield, 1786-1866 (Person)
- From the Collection: Tyler, John, 1790-1862 (Person)
- From the Collection: Webster, Daniel, 1782-1852 (Person)
- From the Collection: Wellington, Arthur Wellesley, Duke of, 1769-1852 (Person)
Language of Materials
Includes - in addition to the French original - an English translation from the same time period.
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 0.50 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository