Letters Concerning the DAR, 1890
Scope and Contents
Letter of Mrs. Darling setting forth her views on establishing an organization along the lines of the Daughters of the American Revolution, August 30, 1890. The letter also gives her lineal descent from Andrew Adams of Braintree, Massachusetts. October 11, 1890 is the accepted date of the founding of the Daughters of the American Revolution. This folder contains letters of congratulation from the heads of state societies of the Sons of the American Revolution. Letters from early participants in the movement, e.g., Mr. O. McDowell of New York, October 22, 1890; Mrs. Sara A. Pryor (wife of Roger Pryor) of New York, October 20, 1890; Mrs. William D. Cabell of Washington, D. C., November 10, and October 23, 1890; Mrs. Ellen Hardin Walworth of Washington, D. C., November 8, 1890.
Dates
- Creation: 1890
Creator
- From the Collection: Darling, Flora Adams, 1840-1910 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Goodwin, William Archer Rutherfoord, 1869-1939 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Mahone, William, 1826-1895 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 (Collector, Person)
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 28.34 Linear Feet (20 boxes)
Language
From the Collection: English
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository