Otway B. Barraud, Norfolk, to Charles Campbell, Petersburg, 1833 November 4
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents
Explains self very obscurely for a letter he wrote about Charles Campbell which seems to have offended the latter. Charles Campbell must have written about his disappointment in the Law, his failure to achieve greatness at the age of 29, his failure in the profession generally, Otway B. Barraud denies this and encourages him. Reacts to Charles Campbell's 3 ways of becoming great: 1) born 2) achieve 3) thrust upon. Spoke to Gwynn on Charles Campbell's behalf, who has offered Charles Campbell a place, hard work, rough fare, but should take it. Civil Engineer.
Dates
- Creation: 1833 November 4
Creator
- From the Collection: Campbell, Charles, 1807-1876 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Carter, Mary B. (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Cryer, William (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Farmer's Register (Collector, Organization)
- From the Collection: New York Weekly Journal of Commerce (Collector, Organization)
- From the Collection: Petersburg Index (Va.) (Collector, Organization)
- From the Collection: Richmond Enquirer (Collector, Organization)
- From the Collection: Southern Literary Messenger (Collector, Organization)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 15.00 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository