Papers and Correspondence, 1865
Scope and Contents
The collection, 1833-1897, mostly consists of letters written to and by James Duncan Graham. Many are to and from his children (William Montrose Graham, Salvadora Graham, James Duncan Graham, Margaret C. Graham and Richard Worsham Meade Graham) and concern their education, health and his concern that they accommodate themselves to the social customs of the time. Two of his sons attended the United States Naval Academy (one also attended Racine College). The other attended the United States Military Academy. Letters also concern Graham's engineering projects, his connection with scientific societies and donations to libraries, the Mexican War, the decision of the family to remain loyal to the Union and the cultural interests of the family (opera and music in particular) and the family portraits done by G.P.A. Healy.
In 2011, a 1860's era photograph album belonging to James Duncan Graham was added to Box 1.
Dates
- Creation: 1865
Creator
- From the Collection: Graham, James Duncan, 1799-1865 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Graham, William Montrose, 1834-1916 (Collector, Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 1.50 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository