John W. Maury, Washington, D.C, to his "dear Cousin," Ann Maury, New York, New York, 1852 October 16
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents
Would rather include the letters in the book even if it does make it cost more to produce; likes the title page; thinks the title page of the first edition amde the book look too much like a work of fiction; will be ready to pay the printers at any time; has not yet seen the book Redwood, but may get a chance to do so today; the Lieut[enant?] should have left for New Work by now; his [the Lieutenant] family is still in Fredericksburg, Virginia and so are Sally Fontaine and her son; on 3 September his wife delivered their thirteenth child, a girl; Isabel [?] has been ill with pneumonia ever since; she is improving though; sends regards. 4pp ALS Bears ANS from Jno. [John] W. Maury, [Washington, D.C.], 1852. Giving his name and the year. 1p.
Dates
- Creation: 1852 October 16
Creator
- From the Collection: Maury, James, Sr., 1718-1769 (Person)
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 6.31 Linear Feet
Language
From the Collection: English
From the Collection: French
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository