J.L. Gilpin, 62 Irving Place, New York, New York, to Ann Maury, Liverpool, England, 1863 June 19
Scope and Contents
Planned to write sooner but was distracted by the news of Stewart's second raid into Penn[sylvania]; until they know where [Robert E.] Lee is and whether or not they will be able to stop him, she will be worried; has no confidence in Hooker's strategy; got a letter from Alonthorpe [?] saying that Helen had typhoid fever, but it does not seem very serious; Mr. Fisher wants her [AM] to look for photographs of famous people while she is in England; thought that she would ask her now since she [AM] will be going to London soon; she had her [AM] mattress made ver nicely and it is very comfortable for her mother; they hope to be at Cornwall on 1 July but are uncertain whether the Maurys [Matthew's family] will go with them; news of friends; sends regards. 4pp. ALS
Dates
- Creation: 1863 June 19
Creator
- From the Collection: Maury, James, Sr., 1718-1769 (Person)
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 6.31 Linear Feet
Language
From the Collection: English
From the Collection: French
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository