Rutson Maury, 5 Hanover Street, New York, New York, to his sister, Ann Maury, Sedgwick, England, 1863 June 11
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents
Told Matthew that he did not think they should demand a price proprtionate to the price obtained for the sale of the entire site of St. Tho[ma]s, because then they will appear to be primarily interested in money; Matthew disagrees because he feels that the church owners are not treating them fairly; agrees. but does not want to stoop to their level; (12 June) received a letter from Fontaine; wrote back to him and encloses a copy of that letter for her [AM] and took her letter over to Elizabeth [Maury, Matthew's wife]; took the copy of Mrs. Pollard's letter to Mrs. Kennedy; she sid that her son had been exiled to Dixie; heard this news from Mrs. Pollard, not from her son; they are all sorry to hear about Mary Wake's illness; does not think the wine she drinks helps her as she thinks it does; is glad her eyes are getting better; Sarah got a letter from Nan, which she is copying to send to her [AM]; W[ilia]m told him that after dinner tht the two young ladies from Staten Isl[an]d were coming to visit; was upset that no one had asked him if it was all right, as they would have asked her; Cha[rle]s Van Ness also came to T[tea]; news of friends; she should book herself on a return passge in October. 6pp ALS Including Cy of ALS from Rutson Maury, 5 Hanover Street. New York, New York to his nephew Matthew Fontaine Maury, Liverpool, England Distributed the letters he sent; eceived a letter from him on 6 May; enclosed it in his first letter Ann, since it dealt with his plans for the future; hopes that someday he will learn to use his time wisely; instead of looking for ways to waste it as he does now; tells him how to write more clearly when writing on both sides of paper and make a press copy; is glad that he and George Bold went to meet Ann and Mytton when they arrived; assumes he has heard that Walker has come back to work for them; thinks that Tobin will be in England before Ann leaves to come to New York; hopes he will take a Br[itsish] ship to aviod being captured as he might be on an Am[erica]n ship; news of family. 2pp
Dates
- Creation: 1863 June 11
Creator
- From the Collection: Maury, James, Sr., 1718-1769 (Person)
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 6.31 Linear Feet
Language
From the Collection: English
From the Collection: French
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository