M.M. Cox, Louisiana. to Mr. Rutson Maury, New York, New York, 1863 April 29
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents
Asks her to give the letter for Miss Steers to Mr. Prince or Mrs. Okill; it is rumored thart Wash[ingto]n has orded that 250,000 Negroes jion the army; they also say that here is to be a State Convention to change the constitution with regards to electing members of Congress; assumes that the slaves will be emancipated; they would have to flee if this were true; the slaves are associating with the abolition soldiers and are no longer respectful to Mr. Cox' (1 May) Mr. Cox brought her a letter from him [RM]; things are still bleak. 2pp. Cy of ALS (Cy by Rutson Maury) Bears AN by Rutson Maury, New York, New York, to his sister, Ann Maury, [Liverpool, England], undated. Mr. Price does not know where Miss Steers is; Mrs. Okill is dead; tjere are not 250,000 male negroes in Louisianna; wrote an encouraging note to Mrs. Cox.
Dates
- Creation: 1863 April 29
Creator
- From the Collection: Maury, James, Sr., 1718-1769 (Person)
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 6.31 Linear Feet
Language
From the Collection: English
From the Collection: French
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository