Horatio N. Hughes, 13 Hargreaves Buildings, Chapel Street, Liverpool, England, to Rutson Maury, Liverpool, England, 1862 February 13
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents
Expected to have had Matthew Fontaine [Maury?]'s letter back and to have received news about what actions were being taken; was disturbed by his comment that Matthew Fontaine would be better off in prison id he intended to join the South; is concerned that his nephew's statement about the actions the English consul might make people angry. 1p. Cy of Ls. Cy by Rutson Maury Bears Cy of L from Horatio N. Hughes, 13 Hargraves Buildings, Chapel Street, Liverpool, England, to Maury Brothers, New York, New York, 20 February [18]62. Offering to pay $250 to help finance the release of their nephews. 1p.
Dates
- Creation: 1862 February 13
Creator
- From the Collection: Maury, James, Sr., 1718-1769 (Person)
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 6.31 Linear Feet
Language
From the Collection: English
From the Collection: French
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository