Rutson Maury, Liverpool, England, to his sister, Ann Maury, New York, New York, 1862 January 17
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents
Heard from Matthew that letters will be delivered to Maury Brothers again, but that letters sent to them to be forwarded to the South will be returned; hopes that this means that Rutson and Fontaine will be released soon; hopes that one of them will be able to take money to James in New Orleans after their release; is sorry that Matthew bought $16,000 of U[nited] S[tates] securities, but none of them knew that specie payments were going to be suspended; a summary of Maury Brothers finances based on the balance sheet Walker sent; estimates that they will have about £23,000 at the end of the season; hopes Matthew will sell her stocks and send him the money so he can put it into English money; taxation will only slow down depreciation, not prevent it; is surprised that Matthew has not sold more already; he could deposit in the Bank of Liverpool; (18 January) they were all interested to hear about Mrs. Ricketts; Elizabeth wants to know how old Mrs. Ricketts is; has not received a reply from Mrs. Edgeworth; finally got Mary Bold to agree to let him give her £50; wrote to Mr. Ruddle after receiving Mytton's letter; was glad that they had visitors for the New Year; dined with the Rathbones. 6pp. ALS
Dates
- Creation: 1862 January 17
Creator
- From the Collection: Maury, James, Sr., 1718-1769 (Person)
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 6.31 Linear Feet
Language
From the Collection: English
From the Collection: French
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository