Rutson Maury, Torguay, England, to his sister, Ann Maury, New York, New York, 1861 December 1
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents
Read her letter quickly yesterday because his mind was occupied with the Trent affair; is glad Maggie [Ludlow] is doing better; hopes that Rutson and Fontaine will be released soon, which seems likely based on the actions of Capt[ain] Wilkes; hopes the American government will apologize to the British government; everyone in Great Britain is upset by [The Trent Affair?]; the Times calls for reparations; is glad to hear Mr. Adams say that his government [US?] never authorized the procedure; 12 December) was impressed by Winchester and Salisbury cathedrals; called on Mr. and Mrs. Jacques Myers and Mr. and Mrs. W. Tayleurs; Mr. Myers is not looking well; he asked after her and Matthew and the Kings; the Tayleurs were not at home so he left his card; saw monuments and tombstones for the Mompesson family; who came to England at the conquest; saw the tomb of William Rufus at Winchester. 2pp. ALS
Dates
- Creation: 1861 December 1
Creator
- From the Collection: Maury, James, Sr., 1718-1769 (Person)
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 6.31 Linear Feet
Language
From the Collection: English
From the Collection: French
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository