Matthew Fontaine Maury, Washington, D.C., to his "dear cousin" (Ann Maury?), circa 1845 December 24
Scope and Contents
Sent for Alek immeadiately after receiving her letter and freed him; liberated the child as well; Alek paid $250 for his wife; that money added to other costs makes $451.50 that Matthew will be requested to charge to her friends charity; encloses vouchers [not present]; history of Alek and Caroline; his wife agrees that there are many good people among the American and English anti-slavery advocates; doubts the philosophy[?] of the British government; does not want to discuss the subject since it is not pleasant to her; thinks her friends is being judgmental without having the right to do so, when she says that slave holders are unchristian; slavery is not condemmed by the Bible; would rather be judged as a {?] master tjam a [?] judge of his neighbors; is not saying anything for or against slavery; the Bible does not condemn it, and neither will he; would like six copies of their branches of the family tree; [final portion of typescript is incomplete due to illegibility of original]. 3pp. Tcy of LS
Dates
- Creation: circa 1845 December 24
Creator
- From the Collection: Maury, James, Sr., 1718-1769 (Person)
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 6.31 Linear Feet
Language
From the Collection: English
From the Collection: French
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository