James Maury, Steady Reuben's, near Charlottesville, Virginia, to his sister, Elizabeth Herndon, Laurel Hill, Spotsylvania, 1833 June 29
Scope and Contents
Called on Mr. Barbour; James is now much more rational; are closing his affairs and hope to be able to visit her in the second week of July; Tom's wife's health; saw his old friend Milly and enjoyed his visit; the hot weather; on July 2nd Anne and Rutson have been spending the last three days going over to James's belongings and deciding what to keep and what to seell; sends regards. 2pp. ALS Including Ts of ALS, 2pp.
Dates
- Creation: 1833 June 29
Creator
- From the Collection: Maury, James, Sr., 1718-1769 (Person)
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 6.31 Linear Feet
Language
From the Collection: English
From the Collection: French
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository