James Maury, Liverpool, England, to his son, William Maury, America, 1829 July 1
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents
Comments on the length of his journey; has decided to think as Mr. Ewart did about losses: "not to look back on them, but to look forward to something that is to recover them"; wishes him luck on his endeavor; will stay in Cheshire till the end of the month; regrets that they cannot see as many of their friends as they would like to while they are there; meeting of the directors of the Fire Insurance company; is not sure what they decided other than to continue with the company; (6 July) the fire company will let people withdraw if they want to which he plans to do; is certain that William will be able to get involved if he wants to when he comes back; cotton; encloses a letter from Mr. Van Ness [Not present.] 2pp. ALS
Dates
- Creation: 1829 July 1
Creator
- From the Collection: Maury, James, Sr., 1718-1769 (Person)
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 6.31 Linear Feet
Language
From the Collection: English
From the Collection: French
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository