Margaret Maury, Liverpool, England, to hreson, James S. Maury, near Charlottesville, Virginia, 1827 March 1
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents
William and Ann are going to Paris; they are currently in London on their way to Dover; Miss Marx from Richmond is traveling with them; William is to sell Tobacco; Mr. Maury receieved his letter and returns his good wishes; sympathizes with him about his domestic problems; she bought a hog, but they had to kill it, and she will never buy another one; she intends to create a space in the garden to dispose of the kitchen scraps; Mr. Maury's persistant cold; news of friends; news of family; hopes that he will grow Ho[a]r[h]ound in his garden, as it is useful; hopes he will be able to buy the servant he wants; hopes he will be kind and not use "personal chastisement" anymore; she will send him clothes if necessary. 3p. ALS Including Ts of ALS, 2pp.
Dates
- Creation: 1827 March 1
Creator
- From the Collection: Maury, James, Sr., 1718-1769 (Person)
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 6.31 Linear Feet
Language
From the Collection: English
From the Collection: French
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository