Negative Photostats, 1748, 1765
Scope and Contents
Letter from John Clayton to D. Carol Linnaeus. 10 Oct. 1748. (in Latin) Photostatic copy. Also a photostat of a copy of the original letter. A letter from John Clayton to [John] Bartram. 22 May 1765. Photostatic copy. Also a note concerning John Clayton by Dr. Earl G. Swem: John Clayton, an eminent botanist, was president, in 1773, of the Virginia Society for Promoting Useful Knowledge. This society held its sessions at the capitol in Williamsburg, Virginia.
Dates
- Creation: 1748, 1765
Creator
- From the Collection: Clayton, John, 1686-1773 (Person)
- From the Collection: Bartram, John, 1699-1777 (Person)
- From the Collection: Linnaeus, Carl von, 1707-1778 (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 0.01 Linear Foot
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository